The National Order of the Arrow
Distinquished Service Award

From the National OA Site:

"The Distinguished Service Award was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented every two years during NOAC. Since the time of the first awards were presented, approximately 500 Distinguished Service Awards have been presented.

"The award is a sterling silver arrowhead, bearing an arrow pointing upward and to the wearer's right, suspended from a white neck-ribbon upon which are embroidered red arrows. A white square knot embroidered upon red cloth is also available. Presentation of the award is limited; nominations are open to both youth and adult."

Over the course of its history, Ranachqua Lodge is proud to have been home to four recipients of the Distinquished Service Award. The list of all Ranachqua Lodge recipients is below. You can also go to the National OA site to see all 500 DSA recipients nationally.


Ranachqua Lodge's
Distinquished Service Award Recipients

1940 - William A."Chief" Stumpp

Chief Stumpp was the founder of Ranachqua Lodge in 1920, and became its first Vigil Honor member in 1924. One of the first to recognize the potential of the OA, he was an important figure in the early years of the organization, serving as the Chief of the National Lodge in the late twenties and hosting the National Lodge Meeting (predecessor to NOAC) at Camp Ranachqua in Kanowahke Lakes. His significance to the early OA is recognized by receiving his DSA in the very first group that included the OA's founders, E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson.


1971 - Bernard M. Drock

Bernie received his Vigil Honor in Ranachqua in 1962, and as a youth was the three term Chief of Area 2J (similar to today's Sections.) He was a tireless worker on several NOAC staffs through the 1960s and 1970s for which he recieived the DSA.


1973 - Michael Feigenbaum

Michael has a long history both with Ranachqua where he received hi Vigil in 1966, then later with National. First as a commercial art student, then as a recognized artist, Michael was responsible for many of Ranachqua's patches and graphics in the sixties, including the stylized Owl that is still in use and is referred to by his name - the "Feigenbaum Owl."After having attended the 1967 NOAC with the Lodge, Bernie Drock was instrumental in getting Michael on his first of many NOAC staffs in 1969 where he did much of the graphic art. He subsequently did a lot of work for National Council when it was located in New Jersey, and is perhaps best known nationally for the design of what is now known as the "MGM" OA emblem.


1979 - Jay E. Schnapp

Jay served the Lodge in many capacities, becoming Lodge Chief in 1968, the same year he received his Vigil. Jay has a long history on the National Order of the Arrow Committee where he helped craft many of the policies that are in effect today. Still actively registered in the Bronx (as an ASM in Troop 240), Jay currently resides in Boston where he is now the Lodge Advisor of Moswetuset Lodge 52.


Last Updated: May 31, 2007